Meeting of Adriatic-Ionian Initiative

Chaired by Slovenian Speaker Janko Veber, the conference will also address EU enlargement towards the Western Balkans.

The Adriatic-Ionian Initiative brings together eight countries alongside the Ionian and Adriatic seas: Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Greece, Croatia, Italy, Serbia and Slovenia.

The group was founded as part of the Conference on the Security and Development of the Adriatic and Ionian Sea, held in Italy's Ancona in 2000.

Slovenia took the helm of the group in June 2012 and will chair it until the end of May. The presidency's focus is on issues regarding the sea and the coast as well as creating a strategy for the Adriatic-Ionian macroregion.