The Slovenia Times

PM highlights role of Eastern Partnership for EU future


Janša said that the EU should be more focussed on realising its long-term vision than it had been in the past ten years.

The bloc's future could not be outlined without all Western Balkans countries and at least some of the six Eastern Partners as its members, he said according to the Government Communications Office.

The prime minister pointed to imposed frozen conflicts in the region, which are standing in the way of this vision.

He said he was glad that the three EU countries which are about to hold EU Council presidencies would dedicate attention to the Eastern Partnership as well and host a summit in March next year when it will be Portugal's turn to hold the presidency.

The Eastern Partnership initiative includes member states as well as six Eastern European partners; Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.


More from Nekategorizirano