The Slovenia Times

RTV Slovenija gets new supervisory board


Ljubljana - A new supervisory board of RTV Slovenija held its maiden session on Friday, electing as chief supervisor Borut Rončević, one of the board members appointed by the government, the public broadcaster said in a press release. The new team will supervise the broadcaster's business operations until 2026.

Rončević had already led the supervisors for several months last year after former chief supervisor Andrej Grah Whatmough became the new RTV Slovenija director general in April.

A sociology professor and dean of the School of Advanced Social Studies, he was an official at the Education Ministry in Prime Minister Janez Janša's second government (2012-2013).

The eleven-member board features five members appointed by parliament, four by the government and two by RTV Slovenija staff.

Apart from Rončević, the government's representatives are Aleksander Kotnik, Anton Tomažič and Milenko Ziherl.

The members appointed by the National Assembly are Romana Fišer, put forward by the opposition DeSUS, Tamara Besednjak Valič (ruling SDS), Janez Čadež (coalition NSi), Metka Čobec (coalition Concretely) and Alenka Vodončnik (opposition SNS).

When parliament was appointing the five new members last month, the centre-left opposition warned the legal provisions governing the representation of parliamentary parties on the board had not been taken into account.

The government had meanwhile wanted to replace two members before, but its decision had been annulled by the court.

The two members of the staff are expected to be elected shortly.


More from Politics