The Slovenia Times

Fmr President Türk joins UN High-Level Advisory Board


New York - UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres has appointed former Slovenian President and the head of the Club of Madrid Danilo Türk to the High-Level Advisory Board on Effective Multilateralism along with 11 other respectable former and current leaders and experts.

Ahead of last year's general debate of world leaders in September 2021, Guterres published a report entitled Our Common Agenda, calling for stronger governance of key issues of global concern.

Multilateralism has been under sever pressure during the term of UP President Donald Trump. Now the challenge is Russia, which violated the international law and norms by invading its neighbouring Ukraine.

Our Common Agenda presents a vision for the next 25 years based on global cooperation and revival of effective multilateralism.

It proposes a Summit of the Future in 2023 to advance ideas for governance arrangements in certain areas that could be considered global public goods or global commons, including climate and sustainable development beyond 2030, the international financial architecture, peace, outer space, the digital space, major risks, and the interests of future generations.

The High-level Advisory Board will be asked to build on these ideas - including the centrality of women and girls, and the need to take into account the interests of young people and future generations - to make concrete suggestions for more effective multilateral arrangements. Their non-binding recommendations would inform deliberations by member states at the proposed Summit of the Future.

The board will be supported by the Centre for Policy Research of the United Nations University and the Executive Office of the Secretary-General.

The board will be chaired by Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the president of Liberia from 2006 to 2018, and the winner the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, and former Swedish Prime Minister Stefan Löfven.

Apart from Türk, who currently chairs the Club of Madrid, the world's largest forum of former heads of state and government, the board includes Xu Bu, the president of the China Institute of International Studies, climate activist from Nepal Poonam Ghimire and Jayati Ghosh from India, a professor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Other members are Donald Kaberuka from Rwanda, chairman and managing partner of SouthBridge, a Pan-African financial advisory and investment firm, Azza Karam from Egypt, secretary-general of multi-religious leadership platform Religions for Peace, writer and activist from Kenya Nanjala Nyabola, advisor to the PM of Singapore on economic issues Tharman Shanmugaratnam, CEO of think tank New America Anne-Marie Slaughter, and founder and president of the Igarapé Institute Ilona Szabó from Brazil.


More from Nekategorizirano