The Slovenia Times

Largest Slovenian Municipality 80 Times Larger than the Smallest


The municipality of Kočevje in southern Slovenia encompasses around three percent of total Slovenian territory of 20,273 km2.

Slovenia has twelve statistic regions, 211 municipalities and 6,032 settlements, according to statistical data.

By the number of settlements the largest municipality is Krško, which has 158 settlements. The smallest are Kobilje, Odranci and Trzin, which have only one settlement each.

In Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia, there are 1000 or 15 percent of all Slovenian streets. Maribor ranks second with a bit less than nine percent of all streets in the country.

In the period between 1 April and 1 July the number of house numbers increased the most in the municipalities of Koper (101) and Ljubljana (59).


More from Nekategorizirano