The Slovenia Times

Slovenia's Oldest Castle Reopens after Renovation


The castle had served as a museum before the renovation, but the exhibition space has now been quadrupled and a museum shop added.There is now also a restaurant, an herb garden and a wine gallery.

Currently visitors can see a display of local postcards, a permanent display of works by sculptor Polona Demšar and castle furniture dating to the 18th and 19th centuries.

A permanent display dedicated to the Order of Cistercians of the Strict Observance and an exhibition dedicated to the exiled will be moved back into the castle by March 2013 and autumn 2014, respectively.

The castle was first mentioned in a document dated to 895. Among its many owners, the Order of Cistercians of the Strict Observance is the best known to the public.

The order, also known as Trappists, inhabited the castle between 1884 and 1945, producing and selling chocolate, cheese and liquor.

During World War II, the castle served as a detention centre for those who were to be exiled and after WWII it was turned into a women's prison. It became a museum in 1968.

The renovation cost just under EUR 5m, with 85% provided by the EU and the rest by the Krško Municipality.


More from Nekategorizirano