The Slovenia Times

Croatia's EU Entry Brings Several Changes forThe Region



Slovenian police will still control the border between Slovenia and Croatia, but crossing of the border will be faster as 33 of the total of 57 border crossings will introduce a single checkpoint.

Croatia's EU entry will expand the customs union to Croatia's territory, which means that customs control on the Slovenian-Croatian border will be abolished.

Passengers entering Croatia from Slovenia will not need to declare cash, and there will be no control of transport of pets, plants, food and similar. Bans and restrictions on the possession and transportation of drugs, firearms, ammunition, pyrotechnics and cultural heritage items remain in force.

One of the changes is that as of 1 July, EU residents will not be eligible for VAT return for goods bought in Croatia and vice versa.

Transport of goods charged with excise duties, including tobacco products, alcoholic beverages and fuel, will remain under strict control, and restrictions on large quantities of such goods remain in force.

On 1 July Croatia will become a member of the Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA), which means that Croatian banks will charge transactions the same as other banks in the SEPA. Croatia will retain its national currency, the kuna.

It will be possible to get customs clearance for goods brought to Slovenia via Croatia already in Croatia, and vice versa.

Vehicles registered in Croatia and used in Slovenia will be exempt from customs payment. Drivers who want to register in Slovenia a vehicle bought or registered in Croatia will still have to pay certain taxes.

Mobile roaming in Croatia will be cheaper, as Croatian operators will have to respect the highest tariffs set out by the EU. A minute of an outgoing call will cost 24 cents, and a minute of an incoming call 7 cents maximum.

Croatia has already liberalised its real estate market in 2009 for all EU member states, but this applies only to building land plots, houses and apartments, while agricultural land, forests, islands and cultural heritage will remain protected also after the EU accession.

A two-year transitional period for Croatian workers will enter into force after Croatia joins the EU on 1 July, meaning that Croatian workers will be treated as non-EU citizens until 30 June 2015.

The scope of healthcare rights of Slovenian citizens holidaying or temporarily residing in Croatia will be expanded to include all rights enjoyed by Croatian citizens on the basis of mandatory health insurance.


More from Nekategorizirano