The Slovenia Times

Actress Zupančič Honoured as Showbiz Awards Given Out


A darling of screens big and small since the 1970s and a prolific theatre performer in recent years, Zupančič became the latest in a line of iconic celebrities to be recognised for their body of work by the five-member Viktor Academy.

Responding to an ovation lasting well over a minute, the 68-year-old Zupančič said she much preferred "the times when I was not taking home awards for lifetime achievement".

But after being presented with the golden statuette by last year's winner Alfi Nipič, she said she was encouraged that the legendary crooner "has showed no signs of let-up in performing since winning the award".

It is in the latest in a line of awards for Zupančič, which include the Prešeren Award and several Borštnik Rings from Slovenia's leading theatre festival.

The lifetime achievement award was the highlight of an evening ceremony at the SNG Maribor theatre house that featured actor Bojan Emeršič as the host and a who's who list of Slovenian celebrities in attendance.

There were again few surprises among the annual awards for achievements in media and popular culture, with most of the honours in television being split by public broadcaster RTV Slovenija and its commercial competitor POP TV.

Slavko Bobovnik of the late-night current affairs show Odmevi continued his dominance of the Viktor for best news host, while the show itself was selected the best news show by the academy for the 13th time.

Among four awards given out based on voting by fans, POP TV evening news host Jani Muhič emerged the winner ahead of Bobovnik and fellow Odmevi host Rosvita Pesek.

POP TV also celebrated picking up the awards for best entertainment show for the celebrity singing show Znan obraz ima svoj glas and for best host of an entertainment show, which went to Peter Poles, for his work on the Dan najlepših sanj show, which gives people the chance to fulfil their celebrity dream.

The Viktor for Best Music Act went to Tanja Žagar, who beat out last year's winners, pop-oompah band Modrijani, and singer-songwriter Jan Plestenjak.


More from Nekategorizirano